Optoelectronics committee

Professor Donal D. C. Bradley CBE FRS FInstP FIET FRSA


Donal is best known for his research on soluble semiconductor materials physics and device engineering. He is Vice President for Research and Distinguished Professor, Materials Physics & Device Engineering at King Abdullah University of Science and Technology (KAUST).

Roberto is a Professor of Information Engineering at the University of Cambridge with research interests in computer vision, machine learning and robotics.

Professor Martin D. Dawson FInsP FOSA FIEEE FRSE FRS

Martin is Professor and Director of Research at the University of Strathclyde’s Institute of Photonics (IoP). He is best known for his pioneering contributions to gallium nitride micro-LEDs (a new form of electronic visual display technology), optically pumped semiconductor lasers and diamond photonics.

Helen is the Cavendish Professor of Physics in the School of Physics and Astronomy at the University of Leeds. She has pioneered many experimental techniques for the study of liquid crystals and devices, developing a deep understanding of their physical properties relevant to uses. She has invented devices including smart, switchable focus contact lenses, novel sensors and, most recently, the first molecular auxetic material.

Anya is Professor of Visual Neuroscience and Dean of Advancement at Newcastle University. Her research focuses on human colour vision, with applications in digital imaging and novel lighting technologies. She is active in the public understanding of science, former Chairman of the Colour Group (GB) and Scientist Trustee of the National Gallery.

Jonathan works in the Centre for Photonics and Photonic Materials at the University of Bath, where he learns about new optical fibres and their applications. He has a strong record of collaboration with those who can use the results of his work, including suppliers of fibre lasers and supercontinuum sources, providers of equipment for optical materials processing and clinicians working to develop new forms of optical diagnostics and treatment.

John is a Fellow and Director of Studies at Gonville and Caius College, Cambridge, where he teaches cognitive neuroscience. His research field is visual perception – and the genetic variations in perception between individuals.

Professor Alison Noble OBE CBE CEng FRS FIET FWES FREng

Alison is the University of Oxford Technikos Professor of Biomedical Engineering. Her research interests sit at the interdisciplinary interface of computer vision (a sub-discipline of artificial intelligence) and clinical medicine.

Professor Miles Padgett OBE FRS FRSE FOSA FSPIE

Miles is a Royal Society Research Professor and also holds the Kelvin Chair of Natural Philosophy in the School of Physics and Astronomy at the University of Glasgow. He leads an optics research team covering a wide spectrum from blue-sky research to applied commercial development, funded by a combination of government, charity and industry.