Winners of the 2024 Rank Prizes announced

The 2024 Rank Prize for Nutrition has been awarded to Professor Roy Taylor and Professor Mike Lean. Their research has furthered understanding of how type 2 diabetes develops, and has shown for the first time that remission from type 2 diabetes is possible for some by following a low-energy weight management programme. Their research is transforming services for people newly diagnosed with type 2 diabetes by giving them the support to manage their health and reverse the effects of this serious condition.

The 2024 Rank Prize for Optoelectronics is awarded to four internationally leading scientists for the development of instruments that use adaptive optics technologies to capture high-resolution images of the living human retina. Their pioneering research has generated new fundamental insights into the structure and function of the human eye in both health and disease as well as new clinical interventions to remedy sight loss from common disorders. The winning scientists are: Dr Junzhong Liang, Professor Donald T. Miller, Professor Austin Roorda and Professor David R. Williams.

The Prizes will be formally awarded at an event in London on 1 July 2024.