Retirements 2017:

Thanks go to Professor Gareth Parry who retired from the Optoeletronics Committee after some 20 years of service and also to Professor Robert Edwards from the Nutrition Committee.

Announcement of 2018 Rank Prizes


£80,000 for pioneering research which has enabled plant breeders to exploit cereal genomics to develop improved wheat cultivars

Professor K.J. Edwards (University of Bristol) - £40,000                                            

Professor G. Moore (John Innes Centre) - £40,000



£90,000 for the invention and realisation of photonic crystal fibres


Professor T.A. Birks (University of Bath) - £30,000                                                

Professor J.C. Knight (University of Bath) - £30,000

Professor P. St. J. Russell (Max-Planck Institute for the Science of Light) - £30,000


 Post-Graduate Studentships in Human Nutrition

  • 2016 Award - The University of Nottingham (£10,000 per annum for 3 years)
  • 2017 Award - The University of Bath (£10,000 per annum for 4 years)
  • 2018 Award - Northumbria University (£10,000 per annum for 3 years)

New Lecturer Award 2017

Dr. Neil Martin (Loughborough) 

Rank Prize Lectures 2017


  • Diabetes UK (Harry Keen Memorial Lecture) - Professor Nita Forouhi
  • The Nutrition Society - Professor Daan Kromhout


  • The European Conference on Visual Perception - Professor Shin'ya Nishida


Nutrition Committee

Post-Graduate Studentships

Details for applications for 2019 to follow

Applications from supervisors are invited for a Rank Prize Nutrition Fund Post-Graduate Studentship in Human Nutrition, to start in October 2018. This should be at a UK institution.  The maximum grant will be £10,000 pa for four years which can be used to fund partially a studentship with support from a Research Council, Charity or other source. Additional funds of up to £1,000 are available annually for the student to attend UK and/or overseas professional conferences. The application form can be obtained here. Any queries should be addressed to The Rank Prize Funds, This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. One application to be submitted per Department, selected and approved by the Head. The closing date is midnight 8 November 2017 and the award will be announced by 14 December 2017.

 Nutrition Committee Travel Awards 2018 - Further details to follow

Awards of up £7,500 each are available to assist early- and mid-career scientists to learn new techniques and/or to make and establish contacts with international counterparts by spending time in an institution outside the UK. The awards are available in the broad areas of human nutrition and crop science to members of academic and research staff at UK universities and other organisations who are defined as eligible for funding under the criteria used by research councils. The scheme is not open to PhD students. Click here to download further details and application form.

Any queries should be addressed to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. .

Vacation Studentships 2018

- Nutrition Committee - 2018 applications in the process of being assessed.  Details for 2019 to follow

The Rank Prize Funds will be again be offering vacation studentships commencing in the Summer of 2018.  A total grant of £2500 per student (£250 per week for 10 weeks) together with up to £500 for consumables (the proposed amount should be justified on the application form)will be available for students to assist in research projects in the fields of human nutrition, animal nutrition and crop husbandry.  Topics should be within the remit of the Committee. Supervisors already actively engaged on appropriate projects can download the guidelines and application form here.

- Optoelectronics Committee 

The Optoelectronics Advisory Committee of the Rank Prize Funds will support a number of awards for students in the penultimate year of undergraduate studies at UK universities which have a major commitment to teaching and research in optoelectronics, including vision and the eye.  The scheme is intended to integrate students in the day-to-day activities of a research group/laboratory and will run during the summer of 2018.  For Guidelines and application form click here.  The deadline for applications is 28th February 2018.



Professor Donal Bradley awarded honorary degree by Hong Kong Baptist University


 Prof Donal Bradley

At its 58th Commencement and Honorary Doctoral Degrees Conferment Ceremony on Monday 13 November, Hong Kong Baptist University (HKBU) awarded a Doctor of Science, honoris causa to Professor Donal Bradley, Head of the MPLS Division ‘for his untiring efforts in scientific research and internationally acclaimed contributions to the development and application of molecular electronic materials’.


Referring to Professor Bradley as ‘one of the pioneers of plastic electronics’, Professor Cheah Kok Wai, Head and Chair Professor of the Department of Physics at HKBU, said ‘the invention of conjugated polymer LEDs launched the field of plastic electronics research and if one looks back along its subsequent path, one can see the many significant contributions to the science and application of molecular electronic materials and devices that Professor Bradley has made, leading to him becoming one of the most highly cited materials researchers in the world’.