Research Visionary Awards

Early-career researchers present their visions for the future of nutrition and optoelectronics


Over the past 50 years, advances in nutrition and optoelectronics, including visual science, have improved many aspects of human life. What might the next 50 years of scientific enquiry and discovery reveal? What future possibilities and challenges might research in these fields answer?

As part of our 50th-anniversary celebrations, we’ve launched the Research Visionary Awards to encourage early-career researchers to explore these questions. Applications closed in May 2021 and six researchers will be selected to give their perspectives on the next 50 years of scientific endeavour in nutrition and optoelectronics. Hosted by Professor Jim Al-Khalili OBE FRS, this half-day event will take place in London in January 2022.

To prepare, the six award winners will experience a tailored programme of workshops and one-to-one speaker and media training. They’ll get help with trend research, presentation design and artwork. And they’ll produce a professionally filmed video featuring their scientific work and perspectives on the future.