Professor Dame Julia Higgins and Professor Cyrus Cooper join Board of Trustees

We are pleased to welcome two new members to our Board of Trustees: Professor Dame Julia Higgins DBE FRS FREng and Professor Cyrus Cooper OBE, MA, DM, FRCP, FFPH, FMedSci.

Julia is an Emeritus Professor of Polymer Science in the Department of Chemical Engineering in Imperial College, London where her research career has focussed on the application of scattering techniques, notably neutron scattering, to the understanding of molecular structure and dynamics in large molecules (polymers). She is a Fellow of the Royal Society and of the Royal Academy of Engineering, Dame of the British Empire and Chevalier de la Legion d’Honneur.

Cyrus leads an internationally competitive programme of research into the epidemiology of musculoskeletal disorders. He is Professor of Rheumatology and Director of the MRC Lifecourse Epidemiology Unit; Vice-Dean of the Faculty of Medicine at the University of Southampton; and Professor of Musculoskeletal Science at the University of Oxford.